Small Faces - Lazy Sunday

09 Mar
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The Small Faces were an English band from East London, heavily influenced by American rhythm and blues.
The group was founded in 1965 by Steve Marriott, Ronnie Lane, Kenny Jones, and Jimmy Winston, by 1966 Winston was replaced by Ian McLagan as the band's keyboardist.

The band is remembered as one of the most acclaimed and influential mod groups of the 1960s, With memorable hit songs such as "Itchycoo Park", "Lazy Sunday", "All or Nothing", "Tin Soldier", and their concept album Ogdens' Nut Gone Flake, they later evolved into one of the UK's most successful psychedelic acts before disbanding in 1969.

After the Small Faces disbanded, three of the members were joined by Ron Wood as guitarist, and Rod Stewart as their lead vocalist, both from Jeff Beck Group, and the new line-up was renamed the Faces. A revived version of the original Small Faces existed from 1975 to 1978.
Despite the fact they were together just four years in their original incarnation, the Small Faces' music output from the mid to late sixties remains among the most acclaimed British mod and psychedelic music of that era.


Related Video

You are here: